30 Bites in 30 Days: [Day 1] Cheryl’s Global Soul

image

Who doesn’t enjoy open spaces, quirky decor and a straight forward breakfast menu?  Cheryl’s Global Soul on the corner of  Underhill & Lincoln near Grand Army Plaza possess the above mentioned.  Eager to try the menu that includes a daily porridge selection, brioche french toast with chantilly cream and salmon hash (available only during brunch) I strolled in with my smartphone in hand.  I ordered the “three eggs any way, Bacon or Sausage, Home Fries and Toast for $8.75″ – keeping it simple plus I had a taste for some eggs (and you know all scrambled eggs are not created equal).  With that being said, let me get into the plate.

My bento-style table setting matched the plate presentation of scrambled eggs with cheese, spicy potatoes and multigrain toast; everything neatly placed on a pristine white plate.  The eggs tasted as if they were made with water because it didn’t have the creamy fluffy texture that melts in your mouth and I had to add a dash of salt & pepper to enjoy.  But the semi-bland baby chicken paired great with the earthy multigrain bread and burn your lips spicy hash.  The home fries MADE the plate hands down.  It was spicy, salty, firm and just plain yummy! I saw rosemary and diced red peppers & onions but could not decipher what exactly made it spicy and I really wanted to know; so I asked my ghost-like server what was in it (I will explain the ghost-like reference shortly).  The server vaguely shared that the elements that made the perfectly fried carb spicy was black pepper and assorted peppers (I’m not sure if she really knew or if she didn’t want to tell me idk).  Nevertheless they rocked, so I can only imagine how awesome the brunch exclusive salmon hash would be #HelloMoto.

The only downfall for Cheryl’s is the service, the server and/or waitress was MIA the entire time I was there – I mean I could see her outside but that was pretty much it.  She literally took my order, dropped off the plate, enjoyed a noticeable smoke break in front and picked up my finished plate on her way to another non-dining room destination – that was it.  Thank goodness I didn’t need anything or craved a “how was everything”check-in.  But I didn’t have to take it personally, because after asking a co-worker and reading a few a online reviews; the overall consensus is that Cheryl’s Global Soul has decent/good food but sucky service.  The sad part is that Cheryl (the owner/chef) seems cool – she retweeted a food pic I took while I was there and other customers knew her by name.  I hope the customer service shortcomings doesn’t become the detriment to a restaurant that clearly puts drops of love on every plate.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Cheryl's Global Soul on Urbanspoon

This entry was published on September 13, 2013 at 2:44 pm. It’s filed under 30 Bites in 30 Days, Brooklyn, New York, Street Eats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,363 other followers

