Drinking Wine Out The Bottle – My attempt at wine pairing ;o)

pizzapluswine

I’m not a wine pairing expert by any means but I love trying to be haha.

I recently saw a group of cyclist pair red wine and pizza – so I decided to give it a try.

Today I enjoy the marriage of  Little Ceasar’s Deep Deep Dish Pizza ($8) and Rashi Claret semi sweet red wine from California ($11.95).  The bottle reads

great complement to chicken, fish or beef with rich sauces

No pizza haha

Even when I asked the liquor store owner what pairs well with pizza, he suggested a dry red wine; which was on the other side the wine flavor spectrum.

Hmmm so let me tell you, it wasn’t the best taste bud combo but not terrible – something spicy or a dry fruit plate of sorts would have gone better.  But the wine itself is a winner.

The Claret coats your tongue in a rich stand alone way. Its made from 100% California grapes but it carried hints of black cherry and lime… almost like a sangria.  It was good, so good I drank it out of the bottle.  :o)

This entry was published on September 29, 2013 at 9:15 pm. It’s filed under Food Affect and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

